Photo gallery: Serena clinching Miami titles through the years


Serena Williams is always in for the win, but it must be a double delight when you win a tournament just an hour’s drive from your home for the record seventh time! In Saturday’s Sony Open Tennis final, the world No.1 Williams recovered from a double break deficit (2-5) in the first set against Li Na and cut out her errors to earn a 7-5 6-1 victory, her 59th career title and $787,000 in prize money, pushing her career earnings over $55 million.

Serena and Patrick

After lifting her seventh Miami trophy, the champion drove away in style with her coach Patrick Mouratoglou. 😉


The first time Williams triumphed in Miami was in 2002, when she ousted third seed Martina Hingis in the quarterfinals, second-seeded sister Venus Williams in the semis and top seed Jennifer Capriati in the final.

Serena 2002 Miami

With another triumph over Jennifer Capriati, Serena defended her Miami title in 2003.


Yet another celebration followed in 2004, as Serena lost just two games against Elena Dementieva in the final.


After losing to her sister Venus in the quarterfinals in 2005 and not playing in 2006, Serena won the 2007 Miami title by beating Justine Henin in the final. The story about that final, in which Serena was bageled in the first set, was actually the first article of Women’s Tennis Blog seven years ago! 🙂


The following year (2008), Serena’s victim in the final was Jelena Jankovic.

Serena wins Miami 2008

Five years later, Serena defeated Maria Sharapova for the eleventh straight time in their careers and clinched the 2013 Miami trophy.

Serena 2013

And now in 2014, twelve years after claiming the Miami title for the first time, the champion is as powerful and smiling as ever.

Serena wins Miami 2014


  1. I’d love to take a peek into her trophy room (it must be a full room, a single cabinet surely won’t suffice) at her place, it must be an incredible sight.

  2. Sorry, haven’t been around for a few days. Might we have been told whom her opponent was in this year’s final or have I missed it somewhere?

  3. Des Platt, I was certain that I included Li in the introduction, thanks for noting. Corrected! 😉


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here