Ana Ivanovic wins 2008 Sony Ericsson WTA Tour Diamond ACES Award


Serbia’s Ana Ivanovic has won the 2008 Sony Ericsson WTA Tour Diamond ACES Award which is given to the tennis player who does the most to help promote the Tour in the course of the year.

Players score points for their off-court activities during tournaments, such as photo shoots and autograph sessions for example, and rankings are calculated after each tournament.

The Roland Garros champion beat the 2007 winner Jelena Jankovic, having earned 30 points more than her compatriot.

Here are this year’s standings:

1 Ana Ivanovic (Srb) 595pts
2 Jelena Jankovic (Srb) 565pts
3 Serena Williams (USA) 345pts
4 Elena Dementieva (Rus) 315pts
5 Daniela Hantuchova (Svk) 315pts
6 Anna Chakvetadze (Rus) 315pts
7 Svetlana Kuznetsova (Rus) 265pts
8 Venus Williams (USA) 245pts
9 Patty Schnyder (Sui) 240pts
10 Nadia Petrova (Rus) 230pts

And here is the list of past winners:

1995 Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario
1996 Gabriela Sabatini
1997 Amanda Coetzer
1998 Lindsay Davenport
1999 Lindsay Davenport
2000 Martina Hingis
2001 Martina Hingis
2002-03 Not Held
2004 Anastasia Myskina
2005 Anastasia Myskina
2006 Svetlana Kuznetsova
2007 Jelena Jankovic


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here