Sharapova wins Indian Wells for first title of 2013

Wilson Blade 9

First of all, I’m sorry for not having covered the semifinals, but I have a good excuse, I was a maid of honor at a friend’s wedding yesterday :). Recovering from yesterday’s wild celebrations, I was able to relax with the final action in Indian Wells, featuring Maria Sharapova and Caroline Wozniacki. The Dane’s last Premier Mandatory final was at the same tournament two years ago and then she went all the way to the title, even beating Sharapova in the semis, but things have since changed considerably and the Russian is way stronger now, overpowering Wozniacki 6-2 6-2 in the title match.

Sharapova recorded 33 winners to Wozniacki’s two and that hard-hitting and accuracy brought her a break to love at the very beginning of the match and a straightforward victory, without dropping her own serve, in one hour and 21 minutes. Naturally, Sharapova’s count of unforced errors was greater than Wozniacki’s, 25 to 19, but her dominance in winner’s was insurmountable.

After a first-round bye, Sharapova beat Francesca Schiavone, Carla Suarez Navarro, Lara Arruabarrena, Sara Errani, Maria Kirilenko and finally Wozniacki, all in straight sets, and lifted her 28th career champion’s trophy and first this season. She will ascend to No.2 in the rankings, pushing Victoria Azarenka to the third position. (photo: © Neal Trousdale)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here