Billie Jean King Cup Finals format change: Knock-out stage replaces round-robin


The 2024 Billie Jean King Cup Finals in Seville are set to feature an exciting new format, with a knockout competition replacing the traditional round-robin group stage.

billie jean king cup trophy

Here’s a summary of the key details:

Dates: The tournament will take place November 12-20, one week later in the season compared to previous years. The last two days of the competition will coincide with the first two days of the Davis Cup Finals in Malaga.

Venue: La Cartuja Stadium in Seville, Spain will host the event.

Format: The tournament, previously comprising 12 national teams divided into four round-robin groups, will now consist of eight teams competing in a knockout round, plus the top four seeded teams advancing directly to the quarterfinals.

Round one ties will be held November 12-14, followed by quarterfinals on November 15-17, and semifinals on November 18-19. The final will be played on Wednesday, November 20.

Reason for change: The format change is based on feedback from players, captains, fans, and broadcasters, as well as the extended WTA calendar. The introduction of this new format promises to deliver an exciting and intense competition for fans and players alike.

Conchita Martinez, a former Spanish tennis player, will return as the Finals Tournament Director for the Billie Jean King Cup. The 2024 events promise to be bigger and better, offering fans an unforgettable experience and showcasing the excitement and passion of these historic competitions.

ITF President David Haggerty said, “We are offering a November to remember in 2024.” He highlighted that the slightly overlapped staging of the women’s and men’s tournaments presents an excellent opportunity to enhance viewership and fan engagement across both World Cup of Tennis competitions. “This is also an exciting way for fans to enjoy both the men’s and women’s events and, by travelling between two cities, take full advantage of the Andalusian region,” he emphasized.

The 12-nation Billie Jean King Cup Finals field features defending champions Canada, runners-up Italy, host nation Spain, wildcard Czechia, qualifiers United States, Australia, Poland, Great Britain, Japan, Slovakia, Romania, and Germany.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here