Serena Williams wins Player of the Year award

Wilson Blade 9

Serena WilliamsTop-ranked Serena Williams has been named the WTA Tour Player of the Year for the second time in her career.

The 10-time Grand Slam champion, who won the same award in 2002, claimed the US Open title last year and reached the Wimbledon final. She also won Bangalore, Miami and Charleston, as well as a gold medal with sister Venus in the doubles at the Beijing Olympics.

Other awarded players:

Cara Black and Liezel Huber – Team of the Year

Dinara Safina – Most Improved Player of the Year

Zheng Jie – Comeback Player of the Year

Caroline Wozniacki – Newcomer of the Year

Ana Ivanovic – Humanitarian of the Year

Elena Dementieva – Karen Krantzcke sportsmanship award

Liezel Huber – Player Service Award

The ceremony to honor the award winners was held Thursday at the Sony Ericsson Open. Williams didn’t attend it.

Remind yourselves of who won the Sony Ericsson WTA Tour Player Awards for 2007. (photo: Ralf Reinecke)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here