WTA players pick the best tournaments in 2023: Indian Wells, Charleston & Cluj-Napoca


The recipients of the 2023 WTA Tournament Awards have been revealed by the WTA, acknowledging exceptional staff and organizational excellence, along with devoted fans and broader support for the sport and its athletes, all voted upon by the players themselves.

The BNP Paribas Open

The accolades for the tournament of the year are divided into three distinct categories, representing various tiers of WTA tournaments. The 2023 champions in each category are:

  • WTA 1000: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
  • WTA 500: Credit One Charleston Open (Charleston)
  • WTA 250: Transylvania Open (Cluj-Napoca)

WTA 1000: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)

For the 10th consecutive year and the 14th time overall, the BNP Paribas Open claims the honor, extending its record streak. The Indian Wells Tennis Garden earns recognition for cultivating an environment where players deliver their peak performances. The current titleholder, Elena Rybakina, expressed, “Indian Wells will always be a special place for me as it’s where I won my first WTA 1000 title earlier this year. The tournament venue and facilities are incredible, and it certainly lives up to its name of being called Tennis Paradise. I can’t wait to return in 2024.”

WTA 500: Credit One Charleston Open (Charleston)

For the second consecutive year, the Credit One Charleston Open, the premier women’s-only tennis tournament in North America and the inaugural clay season event on the Hologic WTA Tour, has been honored as the WTA 500 tournament of the year.

The Credit One Charleston Open celebrated its 50th year in 2022. The tournament has been a pioneer in women’s professional sports since 1973, paving the path for female tennis players to receive equal recognition, respect and pay in the sport.

“We’re immensely proud to receive this recognition, particularly after extraordinary 2022 and 2023 tournaments, which showcased a new stadium and fan experiences,” said Bob Moran, Tournament Director of the Credit One Charleston Open and President of Beemok Sports & Entertainment. “This award is dedicated to everyone who makes our tournament great — our players, fans, corporate sponsors, volunteers, staff and media partners. We cannot host a successful event without them and share this distinction with them.”

WTA 250: Transylvania Open (Cluj-Napoca)

The Transylvania Open, in just its third year on the calendar, has clinched the WTA 250 tournament of the year award for the second consecutive season. “The tournament works extra hard to make sure the players are really well looked after as well as making sure we have lots of fun,” stated Jodie Burrage, who won her first WTA title in doubles this year in Cluj-Napoca, Romania.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here