Azarenka and Clijsters replace Svitolina and Kenin in San Antonio International Team Tennis Championships


Victoria Azarenka and Kim Clijsters will join Venus Williams for the November 10-12 San Antonio International Team Tennis Championships, replacing Elina Svitolina and Sofia Kenin.

Victoria Azarenka

Tournament director Tim Stallard regretfully announced that Svitolina will be unable to compete due to a foot injury sustained at Wimbledon, while Kenin will be in Spain on the same weekend, representing the USA in the Billie Jean King Cup Finals.

The San Antonio International Tennis Championships will feature two teams consisting of top ATP & WTA players, college players and top ranked Texas junior players. The San Antonio Smash will be led by Venus Williams, Victoria Azarenka, John Isner, Bob Bryan and JJ Wolf and captained by Wayne Bryan. The Austin Capitals will be headed up by Kim Clijsters, Peyton Stearns, Gael Monfils, Mike Bryan and Jack Sock.

In addition to the tennis professionals, college players from Baylor, UT Austin, Texas A&M, UTSA, UTPB, Trinity and Southwestern along with top juniors from John Newcombe’s Tennis Ranch and Austin Tennis Academy will also be part of the team event.

“We are excited to welcome so many great players to San Antonio and look forward to world class tennis at Freeman Coliseum,” said Tim Stallard. “The three-day event will benefit SA Sports I-Play Program, Bush ACE Outreach Program and several of the players’ non-profit foundations benefitting children throughout Texas.”

For more information on the San Antonio International Tennis Championships please visit VIP packages are available now online. Tickets are available at or the Freeman Coliseum box office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here