Wozniacki given Charleston wildcard, alongside Haddad Maia, Rogers, Ngounoue


The Credit One Charleston Open has awarded wildcards to former world No.1 and 2018 Australian Open champion Caroline Wozniacki, world No.13 Beatriz Haddad Maia, Charleston native Shelby Rogers and 2023 Wimbledon girls singles champion Clervie Ngounoue.

Caroline Wozniacki

With the addition of the four wildcard players, the 2024 Charleston field now includes 10 Top 20 stars, two former world No.1’s, six former Charleston champions and four Grand Slam champions. Previously announced headliners include Jessica Pegula, Ons Jabeur, Maria Sakkari, Victoria Azarenka, Sofia Kenin, and Sloane Stephens. To round out the draw, six players will earn entry via qualifying competition beginning March 30.

“We are excited to have an impressive lineup of wildcards this year, including former world No.1 and past champion Caroline Wozniacki, Brazil’s Top 20 trailblazer Beatriz Haddad Maia, and the incredibly promising American young talent, Clervie Ngounoue,” said Bob Moran, President of Beemok Sports & Entertainment. “Caroline’s return to the courts in Charleston adds a layer of anticipation and nostalgia for our fans, while Beatriz’s breakthrough performances on the tour last year signal she’s a significant contender. Clervie represents the bright future of tennis at just 17 years old, and we can’t wait to see her compete on this grand stage. Their commitments emphasize our tournament’s reputation as a platform where legends, current champions, and future stars converge, promising a week of exciting tennis action for our fans.”

“Welcoming Shelby Rogers back to the courts at an event that holds special significance for her as a local player, means a great deal to our tournament and our fans,” said Moran. “Shelby’s determination to return to the game she loves is truly inspiring. It’s a moment of pride for us to see her compete in her hometown, and we look forward to supporting her throughout the tournament.”

The 52nd edition of the largest women’s-only professional tennis tournament in North America will take place March 30 – April 7 on Daniel Island in Charleston, South Carolina. 2011 Charleston champion Wozniacki joins Jabeur (2023), Stephens (2016), Daria Kasatkina (2017), Madison Keys (2019) and Veronika Kudermetova (2021) as one of six former Charleston champions returning in pursuit of a second title on the green clay of the Credit One Stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here